Advisory Committees

UMMA Executive Committee

Christina Olsen
Director, Museum of Art

Celeste A. Brusati
Professor of History of Art,
Women's Studies, and Art

David Y. Chung
Professor of Art and Design

James A. Cogswell, Jr.
Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and Professor of Art

Aaron Dworkin
Paul Boylan Collegiate Professor of Music and Dean
School of Music Theatre & Dance

Kenneth C. Fischer
University Musical Society

Robert Fishman
Interim Dean and Professor of Architecture, A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture + Urban Planning

Nojin Kwak
Director, Nam Center for Korean Studies

Gunalan Nadarajan
Dean and Professor of Art and Design

Alexander D. Potts
Max Loehr Collegiate Professor
of the History of Art

Elizabeth Sears
George H. Forsyth Junior Collegiate Professor of History of Art & Chair, Department of History of Art

Carla M. Sinopoli
Director, Museum Studies Program
Professor of Anthropology

Sidonie Smith
Mary Fair Croushore Professor 
Director, Institute for the Humanities

Peter D. Sparling
Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and Professor of Dance

UMMA Director's Acquisition Committee

Established in 2014, DAC focuses on providing recommendations on art acquisitions at UMMA. During twice-yearly meetings, Committee members hear from UMMA curators on desired acquisitions for which the Committee will then make recommendations, recently gifted works of art, and upcoming exhibitions.

Lisa Applebaum (Immediate Past Chair)
New York, NY

Erica Barrish
New York, NY

Andrea Brown
Birmingham, MI

Michael Frishberg
New York, NY

Bill Heidrich
Peoria, IL

Susan Meyer
Atlanta, GA

Mark Phillips
High Point, NC

Lauren Prager
Ann Arbor, MI

Lisa Cohen Russman
Montclair, NJ

Nicole Schloss
New York, NY

Cathy Sosnick Schwartz
Birmingham, MI

PJ and Julie Solit
New York, NY

Susan Sosnick
Birmingham MI and Palm Beach, FL

William Susman (Chair)
New York, NY

Jordan Tabach-Bank
Beverly Hills, CA

Bruce Vinokour
Los Angeles, CA

UMMA National Leadership Council (2013-2018)

Formed to support UMMA during the Victors for Michigan campaign, the UMMA National Leadership Council was a volunteer network that provided strategic guidance on issues of advocacy and fundraising for the Museum. UMMA National Leadership Council members assisted in the indentification, cultivation, and solicitation of potential donors to UMMA during the campaign, which concluded on December 31, 2018. Council members also provided guidance on their particular community's social and business culture and on effective ways to engage with Michigan alumni and parents and with other arts patrons.

Joseph Allen
Palm Beach, FL

Peter Benedek
Los Angeles, CA

Nancy Dolinko Berkowitz
New York, NY

Susan C. Brown
Kalamazoo, MI

Julia Donovan Darlow
Ann Arbor, MI

Barbara Feldman
Bloomfield Hills, MI

Catherine Forbes
Franklin, MI

Maxine Frankel, Co-Chair
Bloomfield Hills, MI

Scott Hodes
Miami, FL

Paola Luptak
Boca Raton, FL

Prudence Rosenthal
Ann Arbor, MI

Jack Rounick
Norristown, PA

Susan Sosnick
Birmingham, MI

Irving Stenn, Jr., Co-Chair
Chicago, IL

Latricia A. Turner-McConnell
Atherton, CA

UMMA Student Engagement Council (2018-2019)

Anneke Benison
Classical Civilizations (major), Museum Studies (minor), Medieval and Early Modern Studies (intended minor)

Emily Considine
Art and Design (major), Computer Science (minor)

Samantha Dunlap
International Studies and Spanish (double major), Translation Studies (minor)

Bridget Grier
Law (graduate program)

Amanda Hardy
Information, Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies (graduate programs)

Maite Iribarren
Art and Design (major), Civil Engineering (minor)

Sarah Jacob
Neuroscience (major), International Studies, Islamic Studies (minor)

Danielle Kim
Film, Television, and Media (major)

Joyce Lee
Computer Science (major), Art and Design (minor)

Isaac Mangold
Art and Design (major)

Madison Murdoch
English (major)

Theresa Nguyen
Information (User Experience) (major)

Madeleine Pierpont
Art History and History (double major), Entrepreneurship (minor)

Joshua Sodicoff
Data Science (major), Biomedical Engineering (minor)

Hannah Tanner
History (major), Museum Studies (minor)

Kilala Vincent
Architecture/Design (major)